Oriental Lilies

Oriental Lilies are blooming now and they’re amazing! I’m making a mental note to order more of them. A single flower can perfume an entire room, making it one of my favorites to bring inside, although their pollen can make a bit of a mess.

Stargazer Lily bouquet by Mid-Life Blogger
Stargazer Lily bouquet with Queen Anne’s Lace and gladioli

The blooms are huge, about 6-7″ across, and their colors are intense and vibrant. They need full sun to thrive, and grow to be about 3′ tall. Their show starts when others have waned, in mid-summer. I love to order plants from catalogs, mainly because I truly enjoy looking at the beautiful photos, comparing descriptions, and sometimes getting ideas for companions. Doing that by the fire in the evenings is how I survive the bleak winter months. Breck’s is a company that I order from quite often and their products are good quality. If you don’t already have some of these lilies, you’re missing out!

img_0326
“Stargazer”
"Dizzy" Oriental Lily by Mid-Life Blogger
“Dizzy”

Breck’s has their Stargazer Lilies on sale Here. And here’s a collection that just happens to be on sale: Oriental Lily Collection

While researching to positively identify these lilies, I happened on the website for The Lily Garden which has a vast array of varieties.

Mystery yellow lily by Mid-Life Blogger
Mystery Yellow Lily

I wasn’t able to identify this yellow lily, and I don’t remember ordering it. It could have been a free gift, a mix-up, or my memory could be faulty. If you know what it is let me know. Do you have oriental lilies in your garden? What are your favorites? If you enjoy gardening, too, please consider subscribing to my blog.

Related Reading:

What’s Blooming Today (June 21, 2016)

My Mini Garden Pond

Spiritual Corridor daylily

Coal Miner daylily

Published by

Mid-Life Blogger

I’m a happily married veteran homeschool mom. I have a wonderful husband, two grown children, and live on a farm in the beautiful Ozarks. I write from our empty nest to share experiences in homeschooling and gardening, and my faith journey.

Leave a comment